When you import your data from a channel, the data within your 3rd party system should be the leading source. If changes need to be made to the data, we recommend doing it within that system, and then syncing those changes to the app data again.
For different reasons, it could however happen that you need to make your changes in our system instead. If you're making manual changes to this channel-imported data, they shouldn't be overwritten again the next time your channel is run. To prevent this, fields and sections of data coming from a channel are automatically locked when you make manual changes to them.
When talking about fields, we refer to the input fields below General. As soon as you make changes to them, the fields are locked automatically. An orange icon appears next to the field label. The status is updated to reflect that the item was imported from a channel, and then updated.
To unlock a field, click the lock icon again. The field value will then be overwritten by the data coming from the channel the next time an import is run. Please note that fields that are not supported to be updated by a channel, such as Highlighted, cannot be locked.
You can also make changes to the fields from the table overview. The same applies here: when editing the table fields, they are locked automatically. An orange icon is added at the bottom right of the field.
Besides the fields below the header General, most items have a number of so-called Sections. Sections describe a relation between the item you're viewing and the objects in it. The section Chairs in the screenshot below for example, lists all persons that have the role of chair in it.
A section is automatically locked when you make changes in it, so you don't have to manually do so. These changes for example include:
changing the session a presentation is nested under
changing the order of the chairs
adding a topic to the topic list of a session
deleting a speaker from the speaker list
When a section is locked, no items can be added to or removed from it by the channel anymore, and, if applicable, the order of the items will remain unchanged. The properties of the item, such as the name of a person or session, will however be updated if it changes in the channel.
If a section is locked, the icon in the header is updated. You can also manually lock a section by clicking this icon.
Besides fields and sections, there are two other options for locking. As most cases are covered by automatically locking these, as described above, using the advanced options should not be needed. They are however supported for exceptional cases where locking fields or sections does not suffice.
Items in a section
You can manually lock an item in a section by clicking the lock icon on the right. This prevents the item from being deleted or edited by the channel, but allows other items to added to the section with an import. Use this only when locking the section doesn't provide the desired results, as it might cause unpredictable situations.
You can also lock complete objects. When doing this, none of the fields or section data is updated anymore with a channel import. There are two ways to lock a complete object:
Select a table row in the overview by clicking the checkbox and click the button Edit selected. Change the Status in Locked. To unlock, do the same but change the Status to Unlocked.
On the detail page of an item, click the Lock button at the top right. The button will change in Unlock.
As most likely the channel contains the most up-to-date information, it is undesirable that none of this info is imported anymore. Instead, only the relevant sections within the object should be locked.