If you have been invited to a session as a moderator, you gain access to the moderator dashboard. Please note that this dashboard is different from the speaker dashboard. As a moderator, you are able to participate in the live session, moderate interactivity and uploaded or pre-recorded videos, and control broadcasting. Below we will explain every element of the dashboard and how you can use them in order to moderate the session effectively.
We advise you to access the moderator dashboard in Chrome or Microsoft Edge browsers. To avoid distractions, we advise closing other applications and turning off your notifications. Please also make sure to use the same computer and internet connection before and during the conference as different settings can change your experience.
For a detailed walkthrough on how to use the moderator dashboard, please watch this video:
The moderator dashboard looks as follows:
Slides and speaker frames
In the slides frame on the left and the speaker frame in the centre, you can see what the audience sees. The content depends on what you selected to be broadcasted, see the sections Switch between Speaker and Panel mode and Control the presenting speaker below.
Live Speakers list
In the list on the right, under Live Speakers, you can see all moderators and speakers that have been invited to this session. You can see their names, companies and which dashboard they have access to (speaker or moderator).
If a user has not logged into the session yet and is offline, there is an indication that says ‘offline’.
If a user has opened their dashboard, the ‘offline’ indication disappears. Please note, that the user’s camera and microphone might be off, but they will still be online.
If a user is online, but their camera and microphone are disabled, they will still be able to hear you and follow instructions.
If the user enables their camera and microphone, you will now be able to see and hear them.
Mute speakers and moderators
All speakers and moderators hear each other at any time unless they are muted. Speakers and moderators won't be heard by the attendees unless the broadcast starts. As a moderator, you can mute speakers and other moderators by clicking the microphone icon that appears on the right side when hovering over the person’s name. Please note, that although you are able to mute others, you cannot unmute them. They will have to unmute themselves. You cannot disable someone else’s camera.
Switch between Speaker and Panel mode
In the top right, there is a switch where you can choose between Speaker and Panel mode.
In the Speaker mode, you can select one speaker. The speaker's slides and camera will be visible for the audience.
In the Panel mode, all speakers and moderators that have their camera and/or microphone enabled are visible to the audience, in a grid in the speaker frame. If someone does not want to participate, they should mute their microphone and disable their camera.
Please note that in both modes, everyone who did not mute themselves can be heard by attendees.
Control the presenting speaker
You can control which speaker or moderator is broadcasted to the audience by clicking the computer icon that appears when hovering over the person’s name. A red tag ‘Presenting’ is shown above the active speaker. The selected speaker or moderator will appear to the audience with their camera view in the speaker frame, and with their uploaded slides or shared screen in the slides frame. If no slides are uploaded or a moderator is selected, attendees will see the placeholder slide. You can switch between speakers by clicking the broadcasting button of another speaker.
Turn camera and microphone on/off
On the bottom toolbar, you can turn your camera and microphone on and off using the buttons in the middle. With the small arrow on the right side, you can select another microphone or camera than the default.
On the left of the camera and microphone icons, there are messages to inform you whether you are the presenting speaker or someone else is, or when you are in panel mode.
You can control whether the room is open or closed in the bottom-left corner. Attendees can only access a virtual room when it is open. We advise opening a virtual room 10-15 minutes before the session starts. This is the equivalent of allowing people some time to come into a physical room where the presentation takes place so that they can take a seat and get settled.
If a room has been ‘opened,’ but the session is not broadcasting yet, the attendees that are in the room cannot see or hear you. They can use the interactive features that you have enabled, such as chat. The audience will only be able to see and hear you, once you click on broadcasting.
Once the session is over and the broadcast has been stopped, the room does not get automatically closed. As a moderator, you need to select ‘Close room’ which will remove all attendees from the virtual room (they will no longer have access to the chat and Q&A) and receive a notification saying that the room has been closed.
You can control when the session is broadcasting or not using the broadcast button in the bottom-left corner. This button only appears once the room is opened. When broadcasting starts, attendees will be able to see the selected person(s) in the live speaker list. When the session is broadcasting, it is recorded automatically, a Live tag is shown in the slides and speaker frame, and a timer starts running in the lower-left corner.
You can share your screen using the button in the bottom-right corner. You can choose to share your entire screen (please use for Powerpoint in presentation-mode), an application window, or a Chrome tab. If you would like to share a video with sound or want to include sound effects, you will need to select ‘Chrome tab’.
Pre-recordings and videos section
All pre-recordings that speakers made through the platform or videos that they uploaded will automatically appear in the moderator dashboard.
If a recording was made on another platform or you want to play a video, you can upload it here by clicking the arrow in the top right corner of this section.
You can upload a separate MP4 file for the slides frame and the speaker frame. If you have just one file, upload it to the Slides frame.
Play pre-recordings and videos
Select the pre-recording or uploaded video in the list just like selecting a live speaker: by clicking the computer icon that appears when hovering over the video. Wait for it to load and then click the play-icon. An “Active video” label will show when selecting the video. The “Active video, playing” label will show during the actual play.
Please note you cannot pause a video or a pre-recording, only stop it.
Interactive features section
Control session settings
In the settings modal that opens when clicking the gear icon, you can:
Upload the placeholder slide that is shown when a moderator is broadcasted or a speaker does not have slides. This slide should be a PNG or JPG of 1280 x 720 px and less than 2MB.
Make interactive tabs visible or invisible for speakers and attendees.
When clicking Save, the changes are immediately applied to the speaker and attendee dashboard.
View interactive features
Note that as a moderator you always see all tabs, even though they might be disabled for attendees.
Chat: You can see the messages that are sent and send messages yourself. Messages posted under the Attendees tab are visible by everyone (attendees, speakers and moderators), and those posted under the Speakers tab are only visible by speakers and moderators.
Q&A: You can see all incoming questions submitted by the audience. Questions appear in the invisible tab by default. Click the eye icon to make the question visible to the audience. The question will then move to the visible tab. The hearts indicate how many likes the question received from the audience. You can also see who asked a question by clicking the three dots and selecting View info. In the same menu, you can also edit a question, for instance, to correct typos or fix punctuation issues. You can choose whether you want to display the questions chronologically (newest first) or by popularity (most popular/most liked first).
Attendees: You can view all attendees in this session and remove unwanted attendees. Click the three-dot icon right on the attendee and select Block user. The attendee will not be able to enter again. The same button can be used to unblock attendees.